Confessions of a Summer Intern: Meet Allison Lindsey

Allison Lindsey

I walked in and thought “I hope I’m in the right place.” I had no clue what to think that first day with Mercy Marketing. What does an intern do? How much is expected of me? Is lunch provided? These are all questions I had that first day.

My name is Allison Lindsey, I am an Integrated Science and Business major, and I am doing my internship with Mercy Health System’s Marketing Department.

I decided in April of 2010 that since I am graduating in May of 2011 I should probably get the ball rolling on my internship. After contacting my advisor, I had no clue what I wanted to pursue. I talked with Sharon Roy in the UW-Whitewater Marketing Department, but none of the places she gave me to contact worked out. Finally, I got the name of Laura in Career & Leadership Development, and she asked a little bit about me and what I was looking for. I told her that I would love to do something in a health care system. She had a connection with Trish from Mercy, who is a Whitewater graduate and a former Mercy intern. Laura had asked if I’ve heard of Mercy, and I told her yes, I had, and I actually work for them at a different facility.

I talked with Laura before the interview, because I was so nervous I thought I was going to throw up. She told me to be myself, and gave me some pointers on how to be professional in an interview. I took all of those suggestions with me and I nailed the interview! I was offered the internship that day. I walked away with huge boost in my confidence, and now I have been given an opportunity of a lifetime. You are only going to get out of this what you put into it. My plan is to get as much information about this department as I can, to set achievable goals for myself, and to rock out the internship!

The first day I found out that the interns are in charge of the fair…it’s our project for the summer. Some of the challenges I would be facing: I am working with people whom I have never met and I don’t know if they work differently than I do. My first day was tough, I was scared and not myself. I didn’t get to meet my mentor on the first day, but I was able to hold it together. The next day was great! I got to meet Rachel, my mentor, and found out that we work together really well. She took the time to sit down and ask not only about my education and about what I can bring to the department, but also about me. She made me feel so comfortable the second day that I was there. It gave me a boost in my confidence to be myself. I have since been told by the director of the marketing department that I am doing a great job. I’m 24 years old, but I still need to hear that I’m doing ok. I may be old and married, and probably one of the oldest interns that Mercy Marketing has ever had, but I am unique and have a lot to offer.  That’s my confidence talking…

Comments
2 Responses to “Confessions of a Summer Intern: Meet Allison Lindsey”
  1. Rachel says:

    We are thrilled to have you with us for the summer and you are doing a fantastic job. See you Monday!

  2. Teele says:

    Yay for Mercy Marketing interns!!! You go girl!

Leave a Reply

