Intern Spotlight: Andrew Minster ’13

Andrew Minster

Andrew Minster, Sophomore (May 2013)
Major: Entrepreneurship
Minor: Athletic Coaching
Internship: Management Internship with Student Painters (Young Entrepreneurs Across America)

How did you find out about this internship? What interested you in the position?

I found out about Student Painters through an email that was sent to students to [invite them] to an information meeting about the internship. What interested me the most was the opportunity to run my own business and receive the knowledge on different aspects of business: marketing, management, finance. After I got the job, I had to attend a two day training seminar on how to run my own business and [complete] the multiple aspects of the internship.

Describe your internship experience.

The responsibility I had [for] my internship was running my own painting business. I had to go home and market the business to customers. I also had to perform interviews to hire other college students to work for me and be the painters. To get different painting jobs, I had to perform estimates as well as manage my works so they stayed on task and got the job done on time (and have the house look good). In order to paint the houses, I had to deal with Sherwin Williams to get paint and all the different [supplies].

What have you learned during your internship? How does this opportunity relate to your career goals?

What I learned from my internship is how to manage all different kinds of employees as well as the different aspects of owning your own business. The opportunity relates to my career by giving me the chance to learn how to run my own business, knowing that I am majoring in Entrepreneurship and that I want to own my own business in the future when I graduate. The internship gave me the skills and knowledge on how to run a business and excel in doing it.

What advice would you give other students about internships?

Never back down from an internship. You are never too young to get an internship. The skills and you experience you [gain], if it’s paid or not paid, is the knowledge that can help you in the future.

What did Andrew’s supervisor have to say?

Andrew has developed faster than most of his peers. His determination was pivotal to his success.

Andrew consistently demonstrated the ability to sell. Our average intern sold $47,000 this summer and Andrew exceeded $60,000.

 

Congratulations Andrews on being selected as UW-Whitewater Intern of the Month for October 2011!

 

Are you having or have you had an outstanding internship experience like Andrew? Tell employers, faculty, and, of course, fellow UW-W students what makes/made your internship experience so great! Be featured in the Intern Spotlight! To learn more, visit the UWW Intern of the Month Program page.

Be sure to check out past featured students’ stories as well!

Leave a Reply

