Time Management for Interns

Clock Work

It is getting to be that time of the year for college students. Classes are spiraling to their ends, bringing with them looming deadlines on papers and projects. Final exams are just around the corner. I think we all know that after Thanksgiving break, it’s a quick downhill slide into the end of the semester.

If you are interning on top of your course load, you have another set of responsibilities to juggle. Fall internships will be coming to an end, which means wrapping up projects and possibly preparing transition materials for the next intern.

This is when good time management skills become very important. As an intern, here are some ways to manage your time, especially at this busy time of the year.

  • Get Organized. Make a to-do list at the end of each day for the following day. It can be particularly helpful to rank order your list by importance. If you have some similar items on your list, group those together. For example, if you have several emails you need to get out, group those as one whole to-do since they all involve being at a computer. Something else on your list involve using the computer? List it right after the email to-dos.
  • Hunker Down. Speaking as an experienced procrastinator, now is not the time to procrastinate. Use a planner or online calendar to schedule out (almost) every minute of your day. Schedule your study times and locations. Consider studying at the library to minimize the distractions that might throw you off course at home. Stick with your plan.
  • Make the Most of Every Minute. Let’s face it – We all have chunks of downtime in our day, no matter how busy our day is. You have time while waiting for the professor to show up to class. You have time while standing in line for food. With the technology that so many students now have right at their fingertips, you can take advantage of these little moments of time. Use your smartphone, iPad, or laptop to send a quick email, do some research, or contribute to a discussion on D2L.

What strategies do you use in managing your time as a student AND intern?

Photo by Sam.Weiss.

Comments
2 Responses to “Time Management for Interns”
  1. hey Laura,
    great post, And great information, thank you for sharing this with everybody on the net especially your interns at UW-Whitewater.
    I surf the Internet on a regular basis and found your post on TweetDeck, I remember when I was in college and going through the same thing actually.
    Students really have to be great at time management and I really agree with you in everything you’re saying especially about being organized, hunkering down and making the most out of every minute.
    As a Calgary pet sitting company and taking care of all kinds of animals on a regular basis I have to micromanage my time as well. I especially love the part about lists.

    I am a huge believer in making lists to keep myself organized, it sounds like you probably are too..
    ( what will we do with our lists? )
    I hope you don’t mind if I post your information to my clients and my list as I am always looking for great and valuable information for people I deal with on a regular basis and I’m want to create some link backs your site, I hope that’s okay with you.
    Thanks once again Laura I will be following your articles now on.

  2. Hi Laura, Interesting article. I used a timer to manage my time, I would give myself a set amount of time to finish a task such as cooking or doing my assignments. This habit has now become a part of my life to the extent that my kids have picked this up too.
    So now if my kids complete their tasks in less time than allotted, this becomes their free time.
    Now that I have my own business of physiotherapy in Ottawa, we try and stick to the same principle of time management. For example giving myself 2 hours every day to do my accounts, or documentation or purchase, this has helped me keep things on track.
    Sanjiv

Leave a Reply

