Confessions of a Summer Intern: Making Opportunities Happen

Leah gives us the scoop on where she is after her internship revelation in her first post.

A lot of things have happened since my last blog post! I ended up leaving my marketing internship at the Madison Mallards to explore various other options. It was a difficult decision for me, because I was concerned I would not have as much ‘real world experience’ as my fellow graduates. However, it was not the right fit for me and life is too short to actually work at work, you should enjoy what you do!

The Monday after I left the Mallards, I was determined to find another internship to fill my time this summer as well as a part time job so I could start making some money. I went to the Andersen Library Monday morning and searched internships.com for virtual internships. I wanted to try a virtual internship so that I could still work one or two part time jobs. I applied for a couple of them and awaited responses. Immediately I found a ‘mailer-dameon’ notice in my inbox telling me that the email addresses I sent my applications to were incorrect. I felt defeated because I spent all day tailoring my resume and writing cover letters just to have them sent right back to me. I decided that Tuesday I would focus my search on getting a part time job and put an internship as a secondary priority.

Tuesday, I went to Janesville and applied at every possible restaurant; no one was hiring. I went to the Duck Inn and they were also not hiring. I went home and applied online to several places such as Menards, Starbucks, and Target. I was getting impatient, because I didn’t have a job OR an internship and it was nearing July. I asked some friends if their jobs were hiring and waited to hear back, hoping somewhere had an opening!

In the meantime, I decided that I might try and create an internship and make some money at the same time by doing some social media work for local businesses. My plan on Wednesday was to create a ‘sales pitch’ for The Steaming Cup and possibly some local bars offering them social media services for a small fee. I figured that way I would be able to get some sort of marketing experience while making money as I continued my job search.

Wednesday came along and before I got started on any plans, I heard back from a friend that the Anchor Inn in Edgerton was hiring. I got myself ready and drove out to Edgerton hoping for the best. I filled out the application and handed it in.

Before I left, I mentioned that I would be willing to do some social media work as well since they didn’t have a strong Facebook presence, no Twitter at all, and no website. The bartender said ‘one moment’ and ran outside to grab the owner. John came in and talked with me for about 5 minutes asking my availability and what I could offer them as far as social media. I told him I could do Facebook and Twitter for sure and try to create a website even though I’ve never done it before. Then he said ‘Okay, you’re hired, come in tomorrow at 10:30 to start training.’ I was so excited! I found a part-time serving job AND I would be doing social media marketing for them! I instantly went home and started working on a website.

Before I get too ahead of myself, for those of you who don’t know, the Anchor Inn is a restaurant located on the Rock River. It’s in Newville. But since that is an unincorporated little town, the address will tell you it’s in Edgerton. We have an outdoor deck/patio, grass seating, and as of last year we have an outdoor bar! Bands play live music on the weekends on our stage that sits right on the river. We also have tables inside and a nice bar area. Here are some picture of the Anchor Inn!

Anchor Inn

Anchor Inn Patio

Leave a Reply

