Confessions of a Summer Intern: Find Your Passion

Leah writes her final “confession.” If you missed her previous posts, you can read them here and here.

This summer has been such an experience for me. I can’t believe it’s almost over! I don’t have many new updates for you all. I am continuing the rest of the summer at Anchor Inn doing all of their social media posts and updates. If they would like me to continue doing social media and website updates during the school year, I plan to do so. It’s fun and pretty easy with all of the different tools available.

The Anchor Inn website I created!
Anchor Inn Website

An inside look at the Google Analytics dashboard for the Anchor Inn website.
Leah Website Analytics

I’m using the rest of my summer to try and plan out my future. Recently, I have been in contact with a few different business professionals around the greater Milwaukee and Chicago areas to conduct informational interviews. I’m interested in broadening my network and learning the best plan of attack for getting a job, coming from a hiring manager’s perspective. It’s really great to sit down with someone who looks at resumes all day and have them tell you what they look for. I’ve gotten some great advice and added more people to my professional network. If you have time to reach out to people, I suggest doing so, especially if you plan on relocating to a large market like Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, etc.

This next semester I am signed up for a marketing internship with the UW-Whitewater Athletics department. I am going to give sports another try, because I am still interested in sports so long as there is actual marketing experience I will gain. I am planing on creating various marketing plans for new events, updating an online magazine/catalog with events and information, and increasing student involvement and participation at sporting events. I am really excited for the opportunity and I have no fear that it will be a much better experience than the one I had with the Mallards.

I will be graduating in December, and immediately afterwards I plan on taking some time to travel. I plan on going to Ecuador for a few weeks and possibly visit some friends in Germany for a few days. Once I return from all of my trips, I plan on moving to Chicago and working for a multicultural marketing firm. I really hope to be able to use Spanish in the workplace, and Chicago has an excellent market for me to find a job doing exactly that. Plus, it’s not too far from home.

Using Escape to Ecuador to make my travel plans!
Leah Trip Planning

I am really happy to have had this opportunity to let you all know about my experiences this summer. I hope it has taught you that you must really enjoy what you do; otherwise don’t do it. In meeting with different business professionals, I bring up my situation with the Mallards. I ask them “How does it sound if I say I quit an internship?,” and then explain my reasons for doing so. Time and time again they say that it speaks to my character and shows that I am hard working, that I actually want to learn, and that I am not afraid to get the most out of any opportunity. So don’t be scared of what people think! If you try something and it doesn’t feel right, go somewhere else and find another opportunity. If there aren’t any opportunities available, create your own opportunities!

College is all about learning and finding your true passion, so take advantage of that! It’s better to try out different internships and have these good and bad experiences now versus signing a year contract with your first job out of school and being miserable for 365 days. Life is too short! Find your passion!

Leave a Reply

